What is up with the occasional spam email that slips through my filters that looks like a travel agent trying to contact me about a room reservation…
Dr William.
Greetings,
I inquiry for reservations for 3 couples coming for their honey moon at your property,I would like you to get back to me with the following.
1. The availability of the dates
2. The Daily cost for the required dates
3. The total cost for the length of their stay.
4. Do you accept credit card payment.The arrival date for the couples will be 5th June and they will
depart on 20th June 2008 ,Their stay will last for 15 days.Do get back to me with the requirements as stated above.
Kindest Regards,
Dr William NelsonTel: +447045766679
Mobile: +447045766674
I just can’t figure this. Am i supposed to give them a quote to live in my house? Spam is supposed to sell me something or try to dupe me into giving them some information which they can exploit.

Tiffany Borges on 


January 30th, 2008 at 9:10 pm
I looked around the internet to see if i could find out what the scam was and it looks like what happens is they send you a check for X dollars for 1st month and security deposit and Y dollars for furniture because they’re moving from Europe. They then ask you to send Y dollars somewhere else for the furniture. Of course the check hangs out in your bank account 90 days before they tell you it’s fake and you’re out Y dollars.
This scam is going around to people posting rentals on http://www.craigslist.org . Did you post an apartment online for rent at some point?
January 30th, 2008 at 9:14 pm
i re-read the message you received, so nix the apartment parts and swap it with Bed & Breakfast. instead of furniture say maybe things newlywed couples might want for their stay.
January 31st, 2008 at 3:59 am
“Spam is supposed to sell me something or try to dupe me into giving them some information which they can exploit.”
Some spammers are just looking for a positive response. If they get one then they know they have a valid address that they can either try to export later or sell to someone who will then try to exploit it later. A response would also inform them that you may be gullible too.
February 9th, 2008 at 7:58 am
They could at least TRY to make it look real. What kind of Dr books travel arrangements? And there should be a company listed.